Former Faculty and Alumni Receive Major Awards

Posted on 08.23.2015

Frank Harold Trevor Rhodes received the Ian Campbell Medal, the AGI's most prestigious award. The medal, presented at the GSA Presidential Awards Ceremony in Denver, October 27, 2002 is awarded to a person who exemplifies the accomplishments and widespread influence of that remarkable geoscientist.

Rhodes was a post-doctoral fellow Fulbright Scholar at the University of Illinois from 1950-51, assistant professor from 1954-55 and associate professor from 1955-56, when he moved to the University of Wales. From Wales, he moved to the University of Michigan, and then Cornell, where he served as President for 18 years. He has published widely in the fields of geology, paleontology, evolution, education and the history of science. His publications include Fossils: An Introduction to Pre-Historic Life and The Creation of the Future: The Role of the American University. He also has been a participant in the BBC television series, The Planet Earth and the BBC radio series, Science, Philosophy and Religion, has served as Chair of the National Research Council, and a director of the General Electric Corporation.

At the AAPG meeting in May, 2003, three Illini geologists will be honored. Prof. Emeritus Albert Carozzi will be recognized as a Distinguished Educator, alumnus Jack Threet, who received the geology department's alumni achievement award in 2002, will receive the Robert Dott Sr. Award, and alumnus Norb Cygan will be honored for distinguished service. During his tenure at the University of Illinois, Carozzi was recognized by students and the geoscience profession as an outstanding and inspirational educator, researcher, and mentor. He supervised 34 Ph.D. and 16 M.S. thesis projects, and his research resulted in the publication of more than 300 articles in scientific journals and 19 textbooks. In recent years, Prof. Carozzi has focused his energy on writing books concerning the history of geology. He is known throughout the international petroleum industry for excellence in teaching and research on carbonate microfacies. "The continuing professional success of his former students is a clear tribute to Dr. Carozzi's exceptional abilities and dedication to the advancement of geoscience education," says William Dawson, B.S. '74, Ph.D. '84, senior research geologist at ChevronTexaco.

Threet, who spent his entire 36-year career with Shell Oil Company, led exploration and discovery efforts in the deep water of the Gulf of Mexico, the northwest shelf of Australia, onshore Syria and offshore Malaysia, Cameroon and Brazil. He eventually became Vice President of the company. The Robert H. Dott, Sr., Memorial Award honors and rewards Threet for original articles published by the AAPG.

Cygan's generous service to AAPG spans 35 years. Over the last 25 of those he has been particularly dedicated to AAPG educational activities. For a number of years, he worked to develop an AAPG teachers and students program at annual AAPG conventions. The first of these took place in 1990, with the first Teachers/Students Educational and Field Trip program. This program, as well as several others Cygan has organized, has continued ever since. Cygan was honored with the AAPG Certificate of Merit in 1990 and 2001, and in 1995 was presented with the Public Service Award for his contribution as an AAPG member in Public Affairs.